I live in  the Northeast of the US. It gets cold. And even though this winter has been extremely mild (I was wearing flip flops 2 weeks ago), it still gets dry, and my pixie-skin gets very very sad. It gets dry, randomly bumpy, and sometimes breaks out in little rashes from who-knows-what.

At least, it did before I learned how to take care of it, and myself, during the cold months. I still get itchy, but it’s not nearly as bad as years when I used to make myself bleed from scratching. I no longer want to claw my skin off! Hooray! So here are my tips and recipes for loving on your winter-skin, and maybe even coming out of the season looking BEAUTIFUL!

  1. The Sugar Scrub: First of all, I know there are approximately 9 million recipes out there for these, so I’m not going to bore you with another one. The template: Mix up a cup or two of plain ol’ white sugar with 5-10 drops of your favorite essential oil (my favorites are lavender and grapefruit in equal amounts, juniper and sage if you’re feeling evergreen-y, and straight up frankincense). Mix in 1-2 T olive or almond oil. Use this mixture to exfoliate AND moisturize your legs, arms, torso…just not on your face, or sensitive bits (gosh could you imagine? No, don’t…yikes…) at least once a week.
  2. Drink a lot of water. Like, half your bodyweight in ounces. Every day. Yes, you will pee a lot, then your bladder will adapt and your skin will stay hydrated. You will look younger. You will lose a bit of weight. It is magic!
  3. Body oil. Every day. And STOP showering every day. Why? Well if you’re like me, you like a nice HOT shower, and hot water dries out the skin. It’s also not good for the hair to get washed every day. Shower every 2-3 days and save your skin, and some water. Instead of your daily shower, wash up your stinky bits with a hot washcloth and soap (my gramma calls these bird baths) and apply body oil every day. Template: Castor oil + Almond Oil + Olive Oil. Castor oil is veeeeeery thick and needs to be thinned. I use 50% castor with 25% each of the other two. I also leave this scentless, so I can add my own essential oil or perfume oil as I want. I also use this stuff on my hair for a couple of hours or overnight, about once a week.
  4. Baking Soda for the Face: You can actually use baking soda on any skin on the body, but I use it on my face at least once a week as an exfoliation. I just use about a teaspoon and rub it onto my wet face, gently scrubbing in small circles. My skin is smooth and lovely afterwards.
  5. To moisturize my face, I either use my body oil blend (castor oil, avocado oil, and almond oil) or I use ozonated olive oil. Ozonated olive oil has been oxygenated and it is amazing for acne, wrinkles, rashes, scars, fungal infections and other skin abrasions. You can use just a tiny amount (less than a pea-sized scoop, it’s solid at room temp) and massage it into the skin. I don’t wear makeup so I don’t know how it wears under makeup, but I can tell you that I look like I’m wearing blush all the time, and people comment on my skin and how it glows.
  6. Eat lots of colors. I know it sounds a little silly, but our skin is the largest organ in our body, and it is an organ of immunity and detoxification. It needs nutrients, especially the fat-soluble vitamins (A,D,E,K), healthy fats, and plenty of vitamin C. Fruits and vegetables as well as nuts and sees give us these nutrients, making these foods daily or weekly contributions to a beautiful body and strong skin.

So I hope all of these little tidbits help you find beautiful skin! Good luck, and stay cozy!

 

Selah.

Pixie

One thought on “Winter Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

